Flashback-2009

Standard

 

This is an old journal entry from 2009 I had originally titled ” Early Bird Inspiration”.

After going back and reading over it, I thought it would make a good blog entry to share. I hope you enjoy.

coffee 2

 

Looking out my window and watching the sunrise each morning as I drink my coffee and  shake the clouds from my brain has become a habit I am now committed to. I get my children ready for school in the wee hours of the morning. There is a lapse in time between the middle school child  and the younger ones, so I have dedicated this as my daily writing time.

My routine is much the same. I wake up at 5 A. M. and head to the bathroom (mother nature calls early in the mornings). I then stumble down the hall to the kitchen and head straight for the coffee pot. Coffee is my friend and she is full, rich, and faithfully gets me going each day. I head back to announce to the oldest child it is time to rise, shine, and to get gussied up for all the girls at school. I am so glad he is a light sleeper. He never fails to be ready on time with little  help from me. Of course, I am always asked twenty questions about the location of his school uniform and the location of his missing socks. (Why do socks disappear anyway?).

After making sure he is up and preparing for the day, I pour myself that first, lovely cup of coffee and head straight to my computer. I have two glorious hours to spend banging theses keys until I have to devote all my attention to the elementary crew. I work on various current projects and surf the web while sipping my java and chain smoking Marlboros.( Yes, I know they cause cancer and are bad for me but I have two vices and its nicotine and caffeine.) I get caught up on the news and make terrific progress on whatever I am working on. Sometimes, when the inspiration hits me, I come up with a new poem or two between other projects.

I wasn’t generally a morning person. I loved to sleep in. I hated to hear the annoying buzz of the alarm clock, but now I have come to look forward to it. This is my time with myself and my thoughts. My time to share with the world, or with myself, what is going on inside my head. I treasure all this time. I now know what they mean when they say the early bird gets the worm. I am soaring high in the mornings catching the worms in the corners of my brain.

I try to get back to this seat as often as I can throughout the day. I stay busy most of the time and have to share this computer with my better half and the children. But, the mornings are all for me. As long as I can do this I will.

I have dedicated and committed myself to doing this each day. Now, for the first time in years, I can finally see that my dreams of being a writer just may come true. This is truly an exciting and inspirational time in my life and I intend to make the most of it.

 

Leave a Reply

