Lessons to Learn

Standard

sad

 

Evelyn felt sadness since Noah left town. The tears never seemed to stop. The pain was awful. Her heart ached and she felt she was changed forever.

He arrived this summer to work for the amusement  park. Their brief affair was passionate, orgasmic and hopeful. Noah was loving, caring, and a gentle lover. He was so attentive, respectful and full of life.

Memories of Noah caused Evelyn such sorrow and despair. She felt confused and alone. The longing for him was more than anyone should ever have to feel. There was an emptiness inside her she could not explain.

” Why must you go?” She asked him on the day  he left.

“Why can’t you stay  here with me? I thought you loved me, Noah!” Tears streamed down her face and she was shaking.

“I do, love you Evelyn.” He kissed her tenderly on the lips. ” I have things I need to take care of back home. I will never forget you.” He hugged her tightly, giving her one last squeeze. He zipped up his backpack, slung it over his shoulder, averted his eyes and walked slowly out of Evelyn’s life.

She had never felt so lonely,  hurt, angry or dejected in all her days. How can a man be so passionate, devoted, and loving and then walk away so easily? How can he claim to love you and then  hurt you at the same tie? Was he lying? Did he have some awful secret? Was she just naïve and did Noah  use her and then get bored and move on?

Evelyn did not know what she was going to do. She had no answers. Just more questions, more tears and more emptiness than ever before. It was too difficult to go about her daily activities. She could barely get out of bed in the mornings. How was she supposed to focus if the only thing she could focus on was this pain?

Then suddenly, she had an idea! She knew exactly what she was going to do. This was the only way to ease  her hurt and pain.

She was packing her bags when her father entered her room. He didn’t want her to go. She was his little girl. He had family here. She had a decent job and a bright future. Why did that damn idiot have to hurt her this bad? He felt like he should have done more to protect her from this pain and he had no idea what he could do now to console her.

“Don’t try to talk me out of this, Dad..” She called over her shoulder. She never stopped packing. ” I know you think I am crazy. I am not going insane. The only way I know how to explain it is that Noah taught me a lesson.”

“I fell to pieces when he left. I feel empty, incomplete, lost. I didn’t know what to do. I know you think I am being irrational and I don’t know what I am doing. Yes, I miss him more than I ever thought possible. Yes, I fell hard for him. But the emptiness I feel is not about him completing me. He showed me that I have so mush to offer the world. He taught me so much about life and myself and brought out a side of me that I didn’t know existed.

The emptiness I feel is because I have shut down due to sadness and I am no longer open to what he taught me. I need to see what the world has to offer me. I want you to understand. Love knows no bounds and lie knows no bounds. Unless I face my fears, take this journey, and live my life, I may never be able to feel whole again. I need to travel and see more things. I need to find my true spirit.”

Her father nodded his head, wiped his own tears and gave her a hug good-bye.

“I will always be here for you, no matter how far you travel.” He called to her as she turned to take the first steps of her personal journey.

 

 

Leave a Reply

