Soup

Standard

soupToday I would like to share with you the first poem I ever wrote. Well, this is the first one I ever remember writing. I have written some that I have lost and will never get back again, but this first one holds a special place in my heart.

I was ten years old and in 5th grade. We were assigned to write a poem or short story for the young author’s contest at my school. I wrote this one. It went on to become first place in class and first place in all of the 5th grade. I was pleasantly surprised to see it published in the yearbook at the end of the year.

 

So without further adieu, my debut poem, from a ten year old me:

 

Slurp, splat

Sipped at,

Ate in a cup.

Lick it up .

Soup.

 

Hot, cold

Thick and thin

How on earth did this begin?

Eatin soup and slurpin it up

And drinking it from a cup?

 

Chicken once !

Chicken twice!

Chicken Soup!

Soup is what I like!

Leave a Reply

