Headlines

Standard

Newspapernews I remember as a child thinking journalism would be a good major in college. It would be a great job to have. I could write editorials, feature stories, do interviews with politicians. This would be a great job! But, I  don’t think anyone has ever taken me seriously.

I write poems. Mostly. I love to read and I love to write. I never made it to college because life interfered and being a mother seemed like such a full time job. The bills  were overwhelming, always floating in and getting in the way of  things I wanted to do. There were things I needed to do that seemed to be a little more important. I had no money for school, no time to put into classes. I had to work 2 jobs and take care of my son alone.  But, I still wrote poems. I still read books.

Life seemed to be going okay for a while, then along comes another man and two more children and more bills and less time and… Still, no college, no degree.

But, all this time I am still writing. I still love to read. It is a wonder I find time to do anything but work. Now, divorced, with two teenagers still at home, I don’t have that journalism degree, but I blog. I write. I read the headlines. I am informed. But will this ever not be just a hobby?

I should have been a journalism major. I should have gone to school. I just want to write and get paid for it. I just wonder, at times, if anyone actually takes me seriously, or if I am wasting my time. But, I will still write.

 

2 thoughts on “Headlines

Leave a Reply

